Scholarship Application - Due April 3, 2019

WHSAF Scholar App 2019 (pdf)


2019 Scholarships

Alumni Foundation Scholarship for School Service and Leadership

The Alumni Foundation Scholarship for School Service and Leadership is awarded to graduates who demonstrate  exceptional service and leadership to the school and their classmates.  This is not an academic scholarship. Students who have taken active roles in student government and school-related service activities are highly desirable candidates for this scholarship.

Carrie Nunes Community Service Scholarship

This scholarship is named for Carrie Nunes, a Centerville native, who devoted her life to the local community as well as as a Washington High employee from 1931 to 1957 . The expanded Nunes family is active in the community and has many members who are or have been educators.  The Carrie Nunes  Scholarship is made possible through an endowment by the Nunes Family.  Students who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to community  service projects during their high school career are excellent  candidates for his award.

Fred Brower-Doug Ely Memorial Journalism/Publications Scholarship

The Fred  Brower-Doug Ely Publication Scholarship is awarded to a student that  exhibits true aptitude for journalism in Yearbook or Newspaper  publications, and wishes to develop their journalistic skills in  college. The award is dedicated to Fred Brower, Yearbook advisor and  English Teacher for 29 years at WHS, and Doug Ely, ('71) who was  Brower’s first yearbook editor and looked-up to him as a mentor  throughout his life.  Together they established high journalistic  standards for others to follow. The winner of this scholarship should  show those types of leadership principles as well as a desire to pursue  personal growth and professional excellence in the publication fields.

John Woodcock Memorial Athletic Scholarship

The John Woodcock  ('72) Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a student athlete that exhibits  the same character traits as the scholarship's namesake. John's  engaging personality, work ethic, and ability to work with others drew  students to him; inside and out of the classroom. Leadership,  dedication, enthusiasm, commitment, and participation in, and to, one’s  chosen path are the hallmarks of this award.

Pop Goold Aspiring Educator Scholarship

J.V. "Pop" Goold  was an outstanding educational leader and key figure in the history of  Washington High and Fremont Unified School District. While at WHS, he  taught Biology, Chemistry, General Science and PE, was promoted to Vice  Principal, and was appointed Principal in 1942. He accepted the  appointment of full time school district superintendent in 1954. He was a  school district employee from 1931 - 1959. He established the Pop Goold  trophy to be given every year to the winner of the Washington - Logan  football game. Top candidates for this award will demonstrate and  describe their commitment to a career in public education. 

Mike Jacinto Team Player Scholarship

Mike Jacinto  was an outstanding student athlete in the class of 1971 who believed  that the distance between a person and their goals was simply measured  by the work one was willing to do to achieve them, and Mike lived this  philosophy throughout his life.  Mike was a Hall of Fame quarterback at  Cal State Hayward, an award-winning business owner and community leader,  and the founding father of the Washington High School Alumni  Foundation.  He was respected by all who knew him for his dedication to  his work, clients, colleagues, and the East Bay communities he served.

Candidates  for this scholarship will have demonstrated the ability to achieve,  excel, and inspire through their example of hard work and dedication in  the face of adversity and uncertainty.  Passionate, energetic, prepared,  coachable, and confident are all terms that would describe the ideal  Mike Jacinto Team Player Scholar.

Steve Barnett Scholarship

The recipient  of the Steve Barnett Scholarship should be an outstanding athlete, student and citizen. Steve was a white sweater winner who continued his  education at the University of Oregon where he was an All-American on  and off the field and later, a community leader. It is our honor to  support this exceptional person who embodies the idea of being a member  of society who has rights, privileges and duties and who is willing to  bring his or her talents to better others.

Belinda Anne Williams Biological Sciences Scholarship

Belinda Anne  Williams graduated from Washington High School in 1991. She  participated in cross country worked in the effort to replace the
school  buildings damaged by the 1989 Loma Prieta Earthquake.  She attended  Colorado State University and majored in microbiology.  During
her  senior year of college she became ill with two devastating illnesses  that were thought to be incurable. Belinda managed to recover and
started  medical school because she wanted to be a healer. Unfortunately, she  was in a terrible bicycle accident in 2011.  She never fully recovered, 

and  died in May 2018.  This scholarship is to be awarded to an outstanding  student, who intends to major in a biological science (biology,  microbiology, neuro science, pre-med, pre-vet, molecular biology,  biochemistry, bio engineering, genetics, physical therapy, and other  biology based studies. The student should demonstrate  leadership, scholastic excellence, and compassion towards those with disabilities.  

Steve Avilla Automotive Careers Scholarship

 Steve Avilla (Class of 1976) was a life long auto enthusiast who owned 27 cars and liked to fix them up, including using his creativity and talent in designing and fabricating custom upholstery. He was also very involved with the Good Guys car shows. The Avilla family established this scholarship to honor Steve’s memory, and support the education of other Washington High seniors with a similar passion.

Scholarship Recipients


Class of 2018

Alumni Foundation School Service Scholarship
  David Mesropyan - ($500) -- Ohlone Jr. College; Film
  Abbas Mahmand  ($500) -- Ohlone Jr. College; Engineering

  Nicholas Nguyen  ($500) -- Cornell University; Communications  
Carrie Nunes Community Service Scholarship
  Nicholas Niera - ($1000) -- CSU Long Beach; Film
  Sanjana Rajesh - ($1000) -- UC Santa Barbara; Economics

 Johnathan Sampson - ($1000) -- Santa Clara University; Economics
John Woodcock Athletic Leadership Scholarship
  Nathan Clark  ($500) -- Ohlone Jr. College; Business Administration
  Sophia Ryals - ($500) -- University of Oregon; Undeclared
Fred Brower-Doug Ely Journalism-Publications Scholarship
  Grady Mahusay - ($500) -- Mills College; Business Administration

Pop Goold Aspiring Educator Scholarship

 Elana Gladish - ($500) -- Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo; Liberal Studies

Mike Jacinto Team Player Scholarship

 Lauren Baglietto - ($500) -- Santa Clara University; Public Health

 Jorryn Toverra - ($500) -- UC Santa Barbara

Steve Barnett Scholarship

 Benjamin Schneider - ($500) -- Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo; Economics

Class of 2017

Alumni Foundation School Service Scholarships
   Pujita Munnangi - ($500) -- Rice University; Bio-Engineering

  Reesa Prescilla  ($500) -- Dominican College; Nursing

  Ganesh Ramakrishnan  ($500) -- UC Irvine; Computer Science

  Stephanie Wong  ($500) -- Cornell University; Engineering

Carrie Nunes Community Service Scholarship
   Preetha Vellayapan - ($1000) -- UC Davis, Psychology

  Saras Chen Singh - ($1000) -- University of Missouri, Kansas City; Pre-Med
John Woodcock Athletic Leadership Scholarships

  Katie Chen  ($500) -- UC Davis; Chemistry

  Benjamin Ulrich - ($500)

Fred Brower-Doug Ely Journalism-Publications Scholarship

  Saras Chen Singh - ($500) -- University of Missouri, Kansas City; Pre-Med